St John’s Council

St John’s Anglican College is governed by the College Council, which is appointed by the Anglican Diocese of Brisbane. The Council’s responsibilities include determining the strategic direction of the College, financial oversight, developing educational facilities, formulating policy and compliance systems and monitoring performance.

St John’s is an accredited independent school under the Non-State Schools Accreditation Board and undertakes five yearly cyclical reviews. It is a registered CRICOS Provider for International Education and an accredited provider of Early Childhood Education and Care for Little Saints Kindergarten, and After and Before College Care (ABCC).

St John’s Anglican College is an accredited IB World School for the Primary Years Program and for the Middle Years Program through the International Baccalaureate Organisation. Students educated through the PYP and MYP have an excellent foundation for the Queensland Certificate of Education and Australian and overseas university entrance.

St John’s Council Members

Mr Stephen Scott, Chair

St John’s Council

Grad Dip Gov (Management), Adv Dip Personnel and Operations Management, Grad Dip Eng (Airframes), Cert IV TAE, MAICD, AFAIM

Mr Scott was engaged in a celebrated military career for twenty-two years before becoming the Principal Strategist at a business advisory consultancy based in Forest Lake.

Mr Scott brings decades of experience in working with a variety of Government agencies, Multi-National Companies and small and medium businesses in improving business performance.  Mr Scott is a member of the Institute of Company Directors.

Mr James Mason

St John’s Council Member

OAM, BA (Hons), Dip Ed, Grad Dip Ed (Administration)

Mr Mason is an historian, author and former Head of Senior School at Anglican Church Grammar School (Churchie). Mr Mason taught at Waverley College in Sydney for fourteen years prior to commencing as a teacher at Churchie in 1985.

Mr Mason was awarded an OAM in the Australia Day Honours List (2006) for services to education, teaching and the writing of history.  He has written several books, some of which have been published in multiple editions.

Professor Rowena Barrett

St John’s Council Member

PhD, MC (Hon)

Currently the Head of School, School of Management, QUT Business School Queensland, Professor Barrett lists amongst her most recent significant achievements, the renewal and increased funding for the PwC Chair in Digital Economy and leadership of the development of QUT’s student entrepreneurship strategy on behalf of the Vice Chancellor, QUT.

Professor Barrett brings with her a wealth of knowledge drawn from her research in sociology, phycology, industrial relations, management, political economy and human resources management disciplines.

Mr Julian Pearce

St John’s Council Member

BA, B Econ (Hons), MA (Econ)

Mr Pearce brings to the St John’s Council a long career in banking and economics and is currently the Chair of the QUT Economics and Finance School Advisory committee, President of the Economic Society of Australia (Qld), a member of the QUT Business School Academic Board and Vice President, Economic Society of Australia (Qld). Mr Pearce is also a member of the Finance Committee of St John’s Cathedral.

Mrs Jane Harbison

St John’s Council Member

BBus (Acc), MBA, ACIS

Mrs Harbison brings to St John’s Council a wealth of experience in a broad range of commerce and expertise in strategy, finance and organizational culture. With a special interest in educational development, Mrs Harbison’s experience gained both overseas and in Australia will provide St John’s Council with sound guidance.