Board Governance

St John’s Anglican College is owned by the Corporation of the Synod of the Diocese of Brisbane and is governed by the Board of FSAC Ltd. The Anglican Diocese appoints the Directors on the Board of FSAC Ltd, the Company Limited by Guarantee.

The Board of FSAC Ltd governs both St John’s Anglican College and The Springfield Anglican College. Each school has a College Council which oversees the operation of each school and who, in turn, is accountable to the FSAC Ltd Board. The Board works with St John’s Council to monitor the effectiveness of St John’s and to establish control and accountability systems.

The role of the Council is to develop and implement the strategic directions of the Board.

St John’s is accredited by the Non-State Schools Accreditation Board. It is a registered CRICOS provider for International Education and an accredited provider of Early Childhood Education and Care (at Little Saints Kindergarten), and After and Before College Care.

St John’s Anglican College is preparing to be an IB World School through accreditation by the International Baccalaureate Organisation for the Primary Years Program and the Middle Years Program.

Board and Council Members

Dr Barry L Kelly

Chairman of FSAC Ltd and Chairman of St John’s Council

BCom (Qld), HonDBus (Qld), FAICD, FAIM, CPA, JP (Qual)

Dr Kelly was appointed Chairman of the Board on October 2, 2009. He is a graduate of both the University of Queensland and the Harvard Business School.

He is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Management. His career spans more than 35 years in the minerals and resources sector in Australia, Asia, the UK, Europe and South America.

Dr Kelly is a company director who has served on company boards in Australia, Austria, Germany and Japan. He was a member of the Anglican Church Grammar School Council from 1990 until 2012. He was appointed Chairman in 2004.

Dr Kelly was awarded the Australian Institute of Company Directors – Queensland Division Gold Medal in 2011.

Mr Ian D Turner

Director of the FSAC Ltd Board and St John’s Council Member

B Econ, B Com (Qld), FCPA, MAICD

Mr Turner has a wide and varied commercial and educational administrative background. He served as Bursar of the Queensland Agricultural College (now UQ Gatton Campus) from 1976 until 1984.

In 1984, he took up the position of Commercial Director of Churchie (The Anglican Church Grammar School) and served in that role until retiring in April 2008.

Mr Turner has been a member of Diocesan Services Commission of the Anglican Diocese of Brisbane since 2005. In June 2008, he was elected Treasurer of the Synod of the Diocese of Brisbane.

Ms Jane Crombie

Director of the FSAC Ltd Board

BHMS, Grad Dip T, Dip Fin Plan, GAICD, JP (Qual)

Ms Crombie is an experienced financial services professional. As Head of Investment Research at HLB Mann Judd Wealth and Superannuation Qld, she has extensive experience in investment strategy, risk, portfolio management and philanthropic services.

Ms Crombie is a graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, is currently completing an MBA at QUT, and has held director and chair positions on boards and committees across the finance, not for profit and education sectors.

Mr Steve Scott

St John’s Council Member

Grad Dip Gov (Management), Adv Dip Personnel and Operations Management, Grad Dip Eng (Airframes), Cert IV TAE, MAICD, AFAIM

Mr Scott was engaged in a celebrated military career for twenty-two years before becoming the Principal Strategist at a business advisory consultancy based in Forest Lake.

Mr Scott brings decades of experience in working with a variety of Government agencies, Multi-National Companies and small and medium businesses in improving business performance.  Mr Scott is a member of the Institute of Company Directors.

Mr James Mason

St John’s Council Member

OAM, BA (Hons), Dip Ed, Grad Dip Ed (Administration)

Mr Mason is an historian, author and former Head of Senior School at Anglican Church Grammar School (Churchie). Mr Mason taught at Waverley College in Sydney for fourteen years prior to commencing as a teacher at Churchie in 1985.

Mr Mason was awarded an OAM in the Australia Day Honours List (2006) for services to education, teaching and the writing of history.  He has written several books, some of which have been published in multiple editions.